Asian Cooking 101: Fried Beehoon

My version of Fried Beehoon (Vermicelli Rice)

If there is one thing I will always associate Malaysia with in my mind, it is food. And not just food people, but fantastic food. Food to make you drool regardless of how full your tummy is. Boy, those people can cook! Varieties of scrumptiousness…OK. Enough drooling already.

I consider myself an adventurous eater…or at least, I thought I was one until I came to Malaysia. I had this conversation a couple of months ago:

Malaysian Friend: So, are Nigerians adventurous when it comes to food?

Me: Er, I think so. To some extent yes, they are.

Malaysian Friend: So what of you, are you adventurous?

Me: Oh yes. VERY adventurous, I love to try new stuff.

Malaysian Friend: Oh, I’m not very adventurous myself.

Me: Really?

Malaysian Friend: Really.

(PAUSE)

Me: Er, I guess when you say you are not adventurous, you mean things like Shark fin right? (I had just watched a documentary on that…and that was REALLY adventurous as far as I was concerned)

Malaysian Friend: (Looking at me in surprise) No. Shark fin is alright, in fact it is quite nice.

Me: (Trying hard to control my expression) Ah, I see. (I try to nod wisely) OK. So, do you mean Octopus?

Malaysian Friend: No, Octopus is really quite nice; haven’t you had it before?

Me: No, I have not.

Malaysian Friend: I mean exotic things like worm’s cocoon.

I almost gag. Now that is adventurous. So I guess I am not adventurous (Yay me!)

That aside, Malaysia is like the hub of Asian cuisine: Name it, Thai, Indonesian, Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Malaysian et cetera…they have it. Even if you can’t name it, they have it. And I am determined to not just eat my fill of the many dishes (Worm’s cocoons and such like aside), I will also learn how to prepare them.

I have already practised Nasi Goreng (Stir-fried rice) and Mee Goreng (Stir-fry noodles). I did not get to take pictures. They turned out better than this though – thankfully I do not have the pictures to prove so you’ll just have to take my word for it.

This is Rice vermicelli a.k.a beehoon or meehoon in Malaysia. I got the recipe from Rasa Malaysia courtesy of a Home Fellowship friend (Thanks Janet!). I did not follow the recipe exactly, I used what I already had at home, so don’t judge me by the picture on that site.

2 Responses to “Asian Cooking 101: Fried Beehoon”

  1. Steaming your vegetables can help maintain the most nutrients. Food Wine Wholesale

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

